MONDAY-WEDNESDAY-FRIDAY COURSE SCHEDULE

Monday (1/12/98) Introduction and Overview
*Use this first class as your opportunity to interview the instructor and the class itself.  
You may want to consider the amount of coursework, the time you will need to spend on homework 
(about 2 hours for every 1 hour of in-class time), the amount of work in your other courses, 
the other commitments in your family life, your current work schedule, whether or not the course 
is required, if you like the instructors teaching style, and whether or not you feel comfortable 
and ready to learn in this class format.  The first day of any class is your opportunity to ask 
the instructor questions to clarify the expectations for the course - use this time wisely.

PART I: INTRODUCTION TO THE DISCIPLINE

Mon  1/12/98	Course Intro	
Wed  1/14/98	The Sociological Perspective	Kornblum 4-8, Morley 2-8
Fri  1/16/98	Sociological Theory	        Kornblum 8-14, Morley 8-16
Mon  1/19/98	MLK Day - No Class
Wed  1/21/98	Competing Paradigms	        Kornblum 14-16, Morley 17-26
Fri  1/23/98	How Do Sociologists 
                Conduct Research?	        Kornblum 16-25, Morley 26-32
Mon  1/26/98	Research Methods	        Kornblum 22-23
                                
                              


PART II:THE SOCIAL CONSTRUCTION OF IDENTITIES

Wed  1/28/98	What is ‘Culture'?	        Kornblum 32-38, *Miner, "Body Ritual Among the Nacirema"
Fri  1/30/98	Streetwise	                *Elijah Anderson, "Streetwise"
Mon  2/2/98	Exploring Cultural Diversity	Kornblum 38-55
Wed  2/4/98	How Do We Become Part of the 
                Social World?	                Kornblum 70-91
Fri  2/6/98	The Socialization Process	Kornblum 94-117
Mon  2/9/98	Conformity and Social Control	Handount in Class
Wed  2/11/98	What is Deviance?	        Kornblum 120-133

Fri  2/13/98	Why Do People Commit Deviant    *Taking Sides - Is Crime Always Functional?
                Acts?	

Mon  2/16/98	Crime in the United States:     *Taking Sides - Does Rap Music Contribute to Violent Crime?
                Myths and Realities	        Kornblum 133-141

Wed  2/18/98	The Prison System:              *Taking Sides - Is Street Crime More Serious than White Collar Crime?
                Institutionalized Social Control	
Fri  2/20/98	Flex Time and Exam Review	
Mon  2/23/98	EXAM #1
                                	



PART III:WHO GETS WHAT AND WHY?

Wed  2/25/98	Explaining Inequalities: 
                The Functionalist Perspectives	Kornblum 144-152
Fri  2/27/98	Explaining Inequalities: 
                Marxist Perspectives	        Kornblum 152-158
Mon  3/2/98	The American Class Structure	Kornblum 158-167
Wed  3/4/98	The American Dream	        Kornblum 167-179
Fri  3/6/98	Poverty in the U.S.	        Reading T.B.A.
Mon  3/9/98	SPRING BREAK - NO CLASS	
Wed  3/11/98	SPRING BREAK - NO CLASS	
Fri  3/13/98	SPRING BREAK - NO CLASS	
Mon  3/16/98	Racial Inequalities in the US	*Skin Deep
Wed  3/18/98	Racial Inequalities in the US	Kornblum 182-187
Fri  3/20/98	Race: Biological Reality or 
                Social Construct?	        Kornblum 187-196
Mon  3/23/98	Racial and Ethnic Diversity	Reading T.B.A.
Wed  3/25/98	American Apartheid?	        Kornblum 196-199
Fri  3/27/98	Theories of Racial and 
                Ethnic Inequality	        Kornblum 199-207
Mon  3/30/98	Sex v. Gender: What's the 
                Difference?	                *West and Zimmerman, "Doing Gender"
Wed  4/1/98	Gender Bending 	                Kornblum 212-220
Fri  4/3/98	Gender Inequalities in 
                American Society: Part I	Kornblum 220-226
Mon  4/6/98	Gender Inequalities in 
                American Society: Part II	*Hocschild, "The Second Shift"
Wed  4/8/98	Flex Time and Exam Review	
Fri  4/10/98	EXAM #2	



PART IV:SOCIAL CHANGE

Mon  4/13/98	Politics and Power              Kornblum 332-339
Wed  4/15/98	Who Votes and Why?	        Kornblum 339-351
Fri  4/17/98	How Does Social Change Occur?	Kornblum 384-394
Mon  4/20/98	Types of Social Movements	Kornblum 394-398
Wed  4/22/98	What Do Social Movements 
                Look Like?	                Kornblum 398-401
Fri  4/24/98	Why Do Social Movements Occur?	Kornblum 401-411
Mon  4/27/98	Exam Review Day	
Wed  4/29/98	Exam #3	
Fri  5/1/98	Final Exam Review Day	
	                               
                           FINAL EXAM
                       TIME & DATE T.B.A.	



*Those readings marked with an asterisk (*) can be found in the Manning reader which accompanied your 
textbook.