MONDAY-WEDNESDAY COURSE SCHEDULE

MondaY  (9/1/97) Introduction and Overview
*Use this first class as your opportunity to interview the instructor and the class itself.  
You may want to consider the amount of coursework, the time you will need to spend on class 
preparation  (about 2 hours for every 1 hour of in-class time), the amount of work in your 
other courses, the other commitments in your family life, your current work schedule, whether 
or not the course is required, if you like the instructors teaching style, and whether or not 
you feel comfortable and ready to learn in this class format.  The first day of any class is 
your opportunity to ask the instructor questions to clarify the expectations for the course - 
use this time wisely.


PART I:INTRODUCTION TO THE DISCIPLINE

Mon (9/01/97)	Course Intro and The Sociological Perspective	      4-10
Wed (9/03/97)	Sociological Theory: Competing Paradigms	      10-17
Mon (9/08/97)	***Labor Day - No Class***	
Wed (9/10/97)	How Do Sociologists Conduct Research?	              17-28



PART II:THE SOCIAL CONSTRUCTION OF IDENTITIES

Mon (9/15/97)	What is ‘Culture'?                                    36-44
Wed (9/17/97)	Exploring Cultural Diversity	                      44-61
Mon (9/22/97)	How Do We Become Part of the Social World?	      68-76
Wed (9/24/97)	Re-Socialization and Total Institutions	              76-80
Mon (9/29/97)	The Socialization Process	                      80-86
Wed (10/01/97)	Conformity and Social control	                      86-93
Mon (10/06/97)	What Is ‘Deviance?	                              100-111
Wed (10/08/97)	Crime in the United States	                      111-118
Mon (10/13/97)	Crime and Social Control	                      118-126
Wed (10/15/97)	Flex Time	



PART III:WHO GETS WHAT AND WHY?

Mon (10/20/97)	Explaining Inequalities: Functionalist, 
                Marxist Perspectives	                              131-140
Wed (10/22/97)	Explaining Inequalities: The Weberian Perspective     131-140
Mon (10/27/97)	The American Class Structure	                      140-144
Wed (10/29/97)	The American Dream	                              144-157
Mon (11/03/97)	Racial Inequalities in the U.S.	                      Wilson*
Wed (11/05/97)	American Apartheid?	                              192-199
Mon (11/10/97)	Housing in Detroit	                              Anderson*
Wed (11/12/97)	Race: Biological Reality or Social Construct?	      188-193,Duneier*
Mon (11/17/97)	Gender Inequalities in American Society	              227-241
Wed (11/19/97)	Affirmative Action: Exploring Myths and RealitieS     197-199
Mon (11/24/97)	Sex v. Gender: What's the Difference?	              218-227
Wed (11/26/97)	Flex Time	
Mon (12/01/97)	Exploring Social Institutions: The Media	      378-384
Wed (12/03/97)	Mediated Images: Tools of Socialization or 
                Entertainment?	                                      384-393



PART IV:SOCIAL CHANGE

Mon (12/08/97)	Theories of Social Change	                      420-426
Wed (12/10/97)	Social Movements	                              426-429
Mon (12/15/97)	Formulating Social Policy	                      429-436
Wed (12/17/97)	***Policy Journals Due***	


*Those readings marked with an asterisk (*) can be found in the Manning reader which accompanied 
your textbook.